h1

Ink by the Barrel: Two years at the Journal

January 17, 2012

Hard to believe, but it’s actually true if you add up my current 19 months + 19 weeks of internships at Edmonton’s biggest ink-consumer.

There’s a lot of the black stuff under that bridge. Assuming I write an average of 12.5″ of copy a day (or a fairly short story) 240 times a year, the Journal will have printed roughly 100,000 copies of a 960-page book of Wittmeierian observations, split-infinitives, and awkward transitions. That’s a really long, horrible bestseller!

To mark my illustrious cotton anniversary as part of the fifth estate, I’ve been sorting through the stack of print any average newspaper-inkman, -inkwoman, or -inkchild possesses. With the miraculous invention of the “scanner” (into the dustbin, microfiche!), I’ve been slowly converting said ink into tiny ones and zeroes, all while I watch hockey, etc.

Over the next few days (likely weeks, perhaps months), I’ll be updating this sadly neglected site to include a handful of my favourite Edmonton Journal story-lines from these past two years, why I liked ’em, and what I haven’t learned in the process. Off the top of my head, there’ll likely be entries on my homicide analysis (10 year data included), my series on unclaimed balances, and my investigative piece on Edmonton Police Commissioner Keli Tamaklo (with Elise Stolte).

While I’m at it, I’ll hopefully find time to give my corner of cyberspace a little bit of a makeover. Until then, goodnight!

One comment

  1. […] Brent Wittmeier reflects on two years at the Edmonton Journal in a recent blog post. He estimates that the Journal printed “roughly 100,000 copies of a 960-page book of Wittmeierian observations, split-infinitives, and awkward transitions.” In a follow-up post, he shared his “favourite” story of 2011. […]



Leave a Reply

