h1

Louie: An appreciation

August 28, 2010

Since I entered this world, I have been a fan of television.

To paraphrase the immortal words of Alan Thicke, I’d take the good, I’d take the bad, I’d take them both, and what have you. There was nothing I wouldn’t watch: CBC’s The Edison Twins, Sledge Hammer, Kid Street, ALF (both live action and cartoon form). I even remember the show before Degrassi TNG, before Degrassi High, even before Degrassi Jr. HighDegrassi Street. Awful, awful stuff.

But somewhere along the way, I lost my connection with the old cathode ray tube. I grew up a little, or so I thought, putting aside childish televised amusement for books and social activities. I became one of those ‘I don’t even own a TV’ guys, though I wasn’t the obnoxious kind that advertises it loudly.

I blame TV too. TV didn’t hold up its end of the bargain: The Simpsons stopped being funny. The fourth wall of Larry Sanders and the Newsroom came tumbling down. Futurama was cancelled, and I was left with virtually nothing worth watching.

But something has recently happened. TV came back.

Witness comedian Louie C.K.’s brilliant anti-comedy, Louie. And no, it’s not to be mistaken for Lucky Louie, his slightly unfortunate short lived sitcom. Louie is kind of like Seinfeld, if Seinfeld was on HBO and in desperate need of anti-depressants. Or if Curb Your Enthusiasm mated with the Sarah Silverman Program.

In this clip, Louie is cast against his will in a remake of the Godfather, starring and directed by Matthew Broderick:

That’s pretty much the only clip I can screen in good conscience on this site. And if that clip doesn’t scare or mystify you, you should check it out.

Louie is the best comedy show I’ve seen in ages. It’s dark. It’s edgy. It’s entirely uncomfortable. It’s decidedly not family viewing. But man, is it good television.

Leave a Reply

