h1

Smell blogs and hung parliaments

May 11, 2010

Near the end of my last semester of UBC, I confirmed travel plans to India for the month of May. INDIA!!!!

A j-school classmate suggested I write a “smell blog” through my journey. As soon as I arrived at the densely populated and immensely fragrant country, my colleague suggested, I should chronicle the odours that tickled the ol’ olfactory. A friend who has visited several times offered a few suggestions from her own experiences:

“Diesel, urine, body odour, rotten fish, and sandalwood.”

Sadly, the smell blog has proven more an interesting concept than anything else. A week after reaching India, I can only vouch for two or three of those five (I won’t mention which ones). So I will save my smelly observations for a later date.

One of the most interesting experiences so far came during a couple of days in London, England, at the start of the trip. We stopped in London between May 4-6, coincidentally the two days leading up to the United Kingdom general election. Signs of imminent change were everywhere. Newspaper editorials were cranky and opinionated. Protesters gathered across from parliament.

Stopping for afternoon tea in a cafe near Trafalgar Square, we emerged and heard a ton of horns. Anyway, here’s a video clip of what I saw.

One comment

  1. […] weeks ago, Brent made his first blog post live from India, writing: Sadly, the smell blog has proven more an interesting concept than anything else. A week […]



Leave a Reply

