h1

Auld Lang Syne to the tune of Blue Moon

December 31, 2009

Happy New Year’s everybody!

The day coincides with the end of my time at the Edmonton Journal. It ended on a bit of a somber note. The death of Calgary Herald health reporter Michelle Lang, reporting in Afghanistan, hit a lot of people pretty hard. My condolences to her family and friends.

It was a week of some fun stories. On Tuesday, the paper ran my profile of a Stony Plain “dog whisperer” Sarah Pay (here’s her blog), including my own photo (eerily similar to Sarah’s shot here, of me and her dog, Winston). Yesterday, I had the double whammy of writing about the New Year’s blue moon and the Olympic torch relay route. My original blue moon story included an interview with Victoria moon-man Gary Seronik, who has a nice little blue moon entry on his website. Seronik very graciously noted he liked the piece, despite the fact he got cut out by the editors.

One more story left in the can. I’m pretty sure it’ll run this weekend. It includes my career’s first (and hopefully only) reference to the “boob fairy”!

Tues. Dec 29, Stony Plain woman targets canine-human relations

Thurs, Dec 31, Olympic torch to travel scenic route

Thurs, Dec 31, New Year’s blue moon won’t happen again until 2028

Leave a Reply

