h1

For reasons I cannot explain, I’m going to Deutschland

September 22, 2009

Sorry for the lack of recent posts.

A major reason for my silence has been the sudden disappearance of my Macbook power adapter. While I scrambled about UBC on Friday, I accidentally misplaced it. I worry that while in autopilot (my standard existence, since I live in my head), I may have inadvertently thrown it in the garbage.

Strange? You don’t know the half of it, brother.

In other news, I’m taking an impromptu 11-day trip to Germany with my father and brother in early October. Some 65+ years ago, my father was born the 8th of 9 children in the little town of Dombrowicza (or something like that) in Poland, which was then Germany. As the Russians advanced towards Berlin, the family were relocated as refugees in a small German town near Goettingen. They finally immigrated to Canada 8 years after the war.

My dad hasn’t been back in 40 years! My brother has some time off and the two decided to go. I figured this may be my only opportunity, so I sucked it up and bought the ticket. Off to see der Vaterland!

Say tuned for more in early October.

Leave a Reply

