h1

The World Sure Needs More of Me

September 25, 2008

Dear readers (the silent legions),

I have now announced my blog to friends, family, associates and whoever else might read what I say.

Anyway, one of my friends responded with an assessment of the psychology of the blog:

– The world sure needs more of ME.

– Maybe I’ll shout more often so that people nearby can experience the joy of knowing my thoughts.

– No, wait, shouting looks too crazy.

– I know – I’ll write down my daily thoughts and badger people to read them.

– If only there was a description for this process that doesn’t involve the words egomaniac or unnecessary.

– What? It’s called a blog? I’m there!

Against such cynicism I can only offer one defense: the world really does need more of ME.

Why? Where else would you get such incisive and witty commentary on all of the things closest to your hearts? Where else would you learn what to think about key issues? Why, if it weren’t for me, you would all huddle in the dank corners, shivering and confused.

Now get reading, or so help me, I’ll badger you, with God as my personal, exclusive witness, until you comply!!!

Leave a Reply

